Making the Connection

008

Each day this week, when I sat down to set an intention for my day, I found myself returning to the intention: keep reconnecting with yourself. Last week was a whirlwind of a week, mentally. I graduated from Cal State Long Beach and although I’m thrilled about accomplishing such a huge milestone, the whole process (the time leading up to the day, the day itself and even the week after) was exhausting. Quite frankly, I’m still in a fog! But with the intention, keep reconnecting with yourself, in my head throughout my daily practice this week, somehow Ardha Chandra Chapasana (a variation of Half Moon pose) found its way into most days of my practice and seemed to really bring me the connection I needed to make with myself.

It’s such beautiful pose not only to do (because it looks pretty), but mainly to feel. There is this calm strength that happens at the peak of the pose. When I know I’ve got my left foot planted into the ground and my left fingertips on the ground, powerfully supporting me and when I reach my right hand to meet my right foot, I feel a sense of accomplishment. But once I’ve made all of those bodily connections to the earth and to my foot, I make the connection to broaden my collarbone and open up my heart. The rest of the pose is about mentally staying in that space I’ve created near my heart. And all of a sudden, I find that Ardha Chandra Chapasana has totally Miyagi’d me. The whole time I was working on “wax on…wax off” and making the connections in the pose, I was building up a connection with myself internally!

So, thank you, Ardha Chandra Chapasana, for weirdly knowing I needed you to teach me to connect this week. That is such an awesome thing about yoga. It’s always there for you in whatever way you need it. Sensei Yoga, I bow to you.

Hope you guys have a fabulous weekend! Grad pictures coming next week!

2 thoughts on “Making the Connection

Leave a Reply

